Manic Monday: Carry On My Wayward Son by Kansas

This is one of the most well known songs. I mean, c’mon who hasn’t heard this song at least once in their life? You may have heard it from your mom or dad living up their teenage years, you may have lived these years yourself, Supernatural fans know this for sure, or even rocked out to this song on Rock Band. But one thing is for sure: this song is epic as hellz man!

Lookin' all cool and shit.

Lookin’ all cool and shit.

American rockers who were popular in the ’70’s, Kansas turned into legends after this song. And they only retired last July!

The very first thing you hear in this song is the title itself, then very awesome guitar shit comes on. With lyrics I find deep as holes made by naked mole rats (do they even dig holes?) and the vocals are so great it melts your ears off , where can you go wrong?

Masquerading as a man with a reason is a lyric that truly resonates with me. Why? I suppose because I like to believe that I do have a purpose, that I do have a reason for all the things I’ve done in the past. Even though deep inside I don’t even know what yet. That just maybe, it was a mistake. Maybe I was wrong. Too late for that though.

Not to mention I totally love Panic! At The Disco’s cover of this song! They didn’t change it much, I mean why would you have to? It’s pretty much perfect as it is. And it didn’t hurt that Brendon Urie, Panic’s lead singer, looked totally hot while performing it. If you wanna see it, just watch it at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiUweukGkxw <— there.

And I believe that I’m still earning my right to lay my weary head to rest and I don’t claim to be a wise man but I think it would be very wise to listen to this song all day, erryday.

If only rock songs today were still as cool, my generation would be in a much more better place. Like, world peace better (haha). And I can’t deny it, I want to experience this kind of music in concert. Head banging and yelling out the song. Feeling like you are a part of something much larger than yourself. Nothing can equal the splendor of this song. So if you wanna give it a listen, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2X_2IdybTV0 <—there it is.

All in all, this is a song I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER!!!

Toodaloo,
Cloudy Skies

Leave a comment